FAQs
Abundance
Does Abundance apply to my opponent’s sites as well?
Yes, they will get the benefit as well, if your Abundance affects their sites!
When do I get this extra mana?
Mana is added to a player’s mana pool during their Start Phase, or when a site enters the realm under their control. So, any sites already in play won’t get the extra mana until the start of your next turn. But, if you play Abundance and then play a site into Abundance’s area of effect, the newly played site will generate extra mana immediately. Also, if you start your turn with a site in Abundance, and then during your Main Phase the site is no longer in Abundance (e.g. Cloud City moving away, Scorched Earth, etc.), you don’t lose the mana that you gained during your Start Phase.
How much mana is generated by playing an Ordinary Tower (e.g. Lone Tower) into Abundance's effect?
3 mana, because 1 (a site entering the realm under your control) + 1 (Abundance) + 1 (Genesis effect) = 3.
Adept Illusionist
What does “shuffle if needed” mean?
If you searched your spellbook, shuffle it. If you end up summoning the extra Illusionist from your hand or cemetery, you may still have searched your spellbook if you wanted.
Amethyst Core
When does this artifact provide mana?
When it enters the realm, and at the start of its controller’s turn.
Aquamarine Core
When does this artifact provide mana?
When it enters the realm, and at the start of its controller’s turn.
Aramos Mercenaries
Do you still need to meet threshold requirements when using its ability?
Yes, since you're still casting it (and not summoning it directly).
Archimago
When I cast one of the banished spells, is that placed back in the cemetery?
No. There's no way back from being banished, which overrides the part of resolution that would place the card in the cemetery.
When I use the Archimago’s ability to banish 3 magic spells and cast 1, do I still have to pay mana and meet threshold?
Yes.
When using this ability, must the Archimago be the caster?
No, any of your spellcasters can cast the copied spell.
What happens if I pay the cost of banishing three spells, but I cannot actually cast any of those three?
If you cannot cast any of those three spells, they remain banished and nothing else happens. You did not cast a spell. (If you can cast one of the three, you must.)
Can I use this ability to cast Valor or Dodge Roll?
No, because the Archimago’s ability is an activated ability, which you can only use during your Main Phase when nothing is on the Storyline.
Askelon Phoenix
How does this ability really work?
Treat it as: If Askelon Phoenix would take fire damage, it gains +1 power this turn instead.
“Fire damage” is any damage from a fire source, such as a fire minion (including strikes), a fire site, or a fire spell.
Morgana le Fay casting Lightning Bolt is not fire damage, since Lightning Bolt is an air spell. Apprentice Wizard casting Firebolts is fire damage because Firebolts is a fire spell (and in fact would be 3 separate instances of fire damage). Anyone casting Grapple Shot that sends a minion into the Phoenix will look at the minion making the strike; if it’s a fire minion, it’s fire damage.
If the Phoenix attacks and there are multiple defenders, each defending fire minion that strikes it counts as a separate source of fire damage.
Assorted Animals
For purposes of cards that care about the mana cost of spells, what is the mana cost of a spell with X?
If you cast the spell, the mana cost is X. For example, if you cast it for 2 mana, then Immortal Throne would see it as a 2 cost spell. But, if you aren't casting the spell and it's simply in your hand, spellbook, etc., then X is 0 until you actually cast it.
Atlantean Fate
Can you play Rift Valley into an area affected by Atlantean Fate?
Yes, since Atlantean Fate only affects the site once it’s already in play, and Rift Valley modifies how it’s played in the first place.
If one of the sites it occupies is an Ordinary water site, are minions and artifacts there still submerged?
Yes. It’s still affected by the aura, but that effect doesn’t do anything to Ordinary sites, other than the Genesis ability.
Atlas Wanderers
What does "normal size" mean?
Anything that occupies exactly 1 location.
Does this carry along oversized units or auras that occupy more than one square?
No.
Avatar of Water
What does “your body of water” mean?
The body of water (if any) that your Avatar currently occupies. If the Avatar isn’t in any body of water, the ability won’t function. (They're a fish out of water!)
Can you choose an existing water site?
Yes.
Awakened Mummies
The Mummies' ability triggers when a unit enters the location, but intercept happens only after attacks are declined. How does this work?
Treat that ability as: When an enemy unit moves onto the ground above them, they unburrow and fight.
Am I required to summon these units burrowed?
Yes. You can and you must.
Do they tap when they unburrow?
No.
Backstab
Can I target my opponent’s minion(s) with Backstab?
Yes (but remember the spellcaster must be in the same region as all the targets).
If a minion has voidwalk and is in the void, could Backstab move it to an adjacent site to strike a tapped minion there?
No. Your spellcaster must target both minions (which are in different regions), but that's impossible since you pick a single location the spellcaster occupies for casting a spell. You can only target minions in the region where the spell is being cast. See "Casting Spells" for more details.
Ball Lightning
After bouncing off a unit, does the ball hit them again immediately since they are both at the same starting location?
No. But the ball can hit other units at that location after changing direction, bouncing back and forth.
Battlemage
If the Battlemage attacks and kills two enemies in a single fight (if my opponent chose to include multiple defenders), does the Battlemage draw two cards?
Yes.
If the Battlemage activates the "Move and Attack" ability, doesn't actually attack, and then is intercepted, does that count as “attacking” the intercepting unit?
No. An interception does not cause an "attack," and instead is merely a fight between the unit that used "Move and Attack" and the unit that intercepted.
If I declare an attack against one target, but then a different enemy defends, does that satisfy this ability?
Yes. An attack was made, and then a minion was killed. As long as your attacking unit used the Move and Attack ability and then got kill credit, this ability is satisfied.
If the Battlemage with a Flaming Sword attacks one enemy, and then another enemy dies as a result of the Flaming Sword, does the Battlemage get to draw a card?
Yes. An attack was made, and then a minion was killed. As long as your attacking unit used the Move and Attack ability and then got kill credit, this ability triggers.
Beast of Burden
What happens when a minion carries another minion that's carrying a minion?
Only the minions you're directly carrying count against your limit. Have fun at the carnival!
Bedrock
If my opponent plays an effect that tries to cancel Bedrock in some way (e.g. Atlantean Fate, Smokestacks of Gnaak, etc.), what happens?
Bedrock wins, and is not modified in any way.
Blacksmith Family
Are these family cards of Castle Servants, Common Cottagers, Blacksmith Family, and Fisherman's Family considered Air, Earth, Fire, and Water spells, respectively?
Yes. You can see the spell’s colored frame matches those elements, so Castle Servants is an Air spell, Common Cottagers is an Earth spell, Blacksmith Family is a Fire spell, and Fisherman’s Family is a Water Spell.
Blasted Oak
How can I tell if a spell or non-basic ability targets something?
It will use the word “target.”
Are random events affected?
No. Something like Lightning Bolt (“Deal 3 damage to a random unit at target location”) must target Blasted Oak’s location, but then the random result is still determined randomly
What happens if you have Kythera Mechanism?
When you target, you must follow Blasted Oak’s restrictions, but you can still choose random outcomes of your choice if you have Kythera Mechanism.
Does summoning a minion target the location where it’s summoned?
No, and therefore Blasted Oak doesn’t influence where minions may be summoned.
How does this interact with Chain Lightning?
You must target all the units you can that share Blasted Oak’s site, spending as much mana as needed to do so. Once you’ve targeted all those units, you could additionally target other units, if you had sufficient mana. For reference, Chain Lightning reads: Deal 2 damage to target unit nearby. Any number of times, you may spend 2 mana to additionally target a new unit nearby the previous one.
Blaze
What is the proper timing of resolution for this effect?
If the Blazing unit moves and attacks, the proper sequence is to resolve the move, then deal 2 damage at each departed location simultaneously, then resolve the attack.
If the Blazing unit moves over the same location multiple times without stopping, how much damage does Blaze do?
Blaze will still only do 2 damage, since a unit is either along the trail, or not. Each time the Blazing unit stops, it creates a separate trail of fire.
If the Blazing unit dies, does it deal damage where it died?
No. Though it clearly departed its location, it never "stops," which is what causes the flame to cause damage. To "stop," a unit needs to move first. (Note that if the Blazing unit somehow died while moving, then Blaze would in fact deal damage when the unit died.)
Is this magic damage?
Yes. The source of the damage is the Blaze spell, not the unit.
If a Blazing Megamoeba moves, does Blaze do damage?
No, since the Megamoeba still occupies the sites and thus never departed.
Blink
Can a disabled unit Blink?
Yes, this is forced movement, not taking a step themselves.
The beta foil version of Blink and Blizzard have their the title, mana cost, and typeline swapped. Is that a misprint?
Yes, this is a misprint. These are not legal for tournament play.
Blizzard
The beta foil version of Blink and Blizzard have their the title, mana cost, and typeline swapped. Is that a misprint?
Yes, this is a misprint. These are not legal for tournament play.
Boneyard
What is the proper timing of resolution for this effect?
Non-active player chooses a minion. Active player chooses a minion. Both minions enter the realm simultaneously. Then, the non-active player resolves any triggered abilities (like genesis), and finally the active player resolves their triggered abilities.
Brobdingnag Bullfrog
Does the swallowed minion untap? Is it still in the realm? Can it be attacked?
Yes.
If the swallowed minion is moved away somehow, does it lose Disabled?
Yes.
Buried Treasure
Do I get the cards immediately when my minion carrying the treasure moves to the surface, even in the middle of something else (like defending or attacking) ?
Yes! As soon as your unit is on the surface, you resolve the treasure effect.
Captain Baldassare
If Captain Baldassare attacks a 3 power minion, killing it but also dying in the process, does the Captain have time to use their ability before they die?
Yes, by a long shot! In fact, Captain Baldassare's trigger happens as soon as the attack is resolving, even before strikes are made. The trigger for Captain's ability and the Captain dying aren't in the same window of time. The ability triggers first.
Castle Servants
Are these family cards of Castle Servants, Common Cottagers, Blacksmith Family, and Fisherman's Family considered Air, Earth, Fire, and Water spells, respectively?
Yes. You can see the spell’s colored frame matches those elements, so Castle Servants is an Air spell, Common Cottagers is an Earth spell, Blacksmith Family is a Fire spell, and Fisherman’s Family is a Water Spell.
Cerberus in Chains
What does "your location" mean?
In this case, “your location” means "a location that your avatar occupies."
What does “can’t move itself away” mean?
Cerberus can't choose to move to a location that is farther from your avatar than its current location. (Count distance using steps that Cerberus would take using its own modes of movement, e.g. Airborne if it gained it somehow.)
If your avatar occupies a site you don't control, can you summon Cerberus there?
No. The first sentence is an additional restriction on summoning.
How does Cerberus in Chains automatically follow you?
Whenever your avatar enters a new location, Cerberus in Chains teleports to that location.
Chain Lightning
Do I pay all the costs and choose all the targets when the spell is cast?
Yes.
Does the damage resolve sequentially or simultaneously?
All targets take the damage simultaneously.
Can I chain the lightning from target A to target B back to target A?
No, that’s not what “new” means. You can only choose new targets that haven’t already been targeted by the spell.
Can additional targets be in different regions (as long as they’re nearby the previous target)?
No. Being nearby the previous target is an additional targeting restriction, not a loosening of the targeting rules, so all targets must be in the same region as the caster.
Chaos Twister
Does the minion teleport to the location where it lands?
Yes. It teleports to the surface of the site (or void) where it lands.
What if the minion lands in the void?
It deals no damage (even to itself). Since it's now in the void, it is banished (unless it has Voidwalk).
What if the minion lands atop two or more sites?
It lands on only a single site, which is the one that it most fully overlaps.
What if I'm using Chaos Twister on a token? Or a really expensive card with triple sleeves?
Feel free to use a stand-in.
Does the minion continue to carry whatever it was carrying?
Yes.
How should I resolve this card in a tournament setting?
This card as-written represents part of our design philosophy for Sorcery. Apply the birthday candle rule, which is that you must blow the card off your hand in a single breath; if you do not, then the effect fails. If the card falls prior to starting to blow, replace it on your hand. Once you start blowing, if the card falls due to anything other than blowing (e.g. hand movement), the effect fails. Call a judge before resolving this card if you're worried, but please be cool and apply the golden rule!
What if the minion doesn't land in the grid at all?
The teleportation effect doesn’t happen and it deals no damage.
Cloud City
Does this carry along oversized minions or auras that occupy more than one square?
No. If an oversized minion is now occupying the void, it will be banished. (Megamoeba will still move with Cloud City.)
Does this carry along oversized units or auras that occupy more than one square?
No.
Common Cottagers
Are these family cards of Castle Servants, Common Cottagers, Blacksmith Family, and Fisherman's Family considered Air, Earth, Fire, and Water spells, respectively?
Yes. You can see the spell’s colored frame matches those elements, so Castle Servants is an Air spell, Common Cottagers is an Earth spell, Blacksmith Family is a Fire spell, and Fisherman’s Family is a Water Spell.
Cone of Flame
Does Cone of Flame extend across multiple regions?
No, all affected locations must be in the same region as the caster. By default, the damage grid is restricted to the caster’s region. If the caster occupies multiple regions (e.g. a oversized unit), pick a single region where you’re casting the spell.
All the empty boxes are void and the letters are sites. If the spell is cast from the surface of X, is Z affected?
X | ||
Z |
Yes, because it's the same region as the spell effect, even though it's separated by void.
Conqueror Worm
If I control Rubble, can my opponent still play a site there?
Yes, but it might only feed the worm.
Courtesan Thaïs
What does it mean for one player to be controlled by another player?
If you control a player, you see all their cards and make all decisions for them. You still must make legal choices for them. For example, you still cannot force their minion to move into the void (without Voidwalk) or attack themselves.
What happens if there are multiple copies of Courtesan Thaïs played, overlapping each other?
The effects can overlap. They do not add additional turns of control beyond what's specified by card text. For example, Turn 1: Player A plays Courtesan 1. Turn 2: Player B is controlled by Player A due to Courtesan 1's effect, and plays Courtesan 2. Turn 3: Player A is controlled by Player B due to Courtesan 1's effect and Courtesan 2's effect. Turn 4: Player B is controlled by Player A due to Courtesan 2's effect.
The beta foil version has 1 fire threshold and the normal version has 2 fire threshold. Which is correct?
The normal version is correct. You still need 2 fire affinity to cast this minion.
What happens if my turn is skipped via Vaults of Zul and Courtesan Thaïs is affecting me?
If a turn is skipped then there's no actual turn, which means that part of Courtesan Thaïs's effect would wait for that player's next actual turn.
When I control my opponent's turn, can I force them to concede?
No. Stop it.
Craterize
Do I have to choose "above" or "below," or does it damage both automatically?
There is a giant meteor landing in the realm! It damages both above and below - surface, underwater, and underground!
All the empty boxes are void and the letters are sites. If the spell is cast from the surface of X, is Z affected?
X | ||
Z |
Yes, because it's the same region as the spell effect, even though it's separated by void.
Crave Golem
Can Crave Golem attack itself?
No, per normal attack restrictions (which the Crave Golem respects).
Does it use normal targeting rules when attacking?
Yes, except that it may attack other allied minions if they happen to be the chosen target. It still cannot attack Airborne or Stealth units unless it gains a special ability that allows it to do so.
How do I properly resolve this ability?
First, identify all the minions that Crave Golem can attack within its range of motion.
If there are one or more such minions:
- Randomly pick one, then move (if needed), and attack it. This counts as a normal attack and may be defended.
- For example, if there's one adjacent minion with Airborne and another without Airborne, it will attack the non-Airborne minion 100% of the time (unless Crave Golem somehow gained Airborne).
If there are no such minions:
- Imagine the Crave Golem had unlimited movement. Are there any minions it could attack now?
- If not, it doesn't move and the ability is over. It cannot be intercepted.
- If so, take one step toward the minion that requires the fewest Crave Golem steps to reach. (Crave Golem's controller's choice if tied.) This movement cannot be intercepted.
Does it tap to take a step or attack?
No.
When it attacks, does the targeted unit strike back?
Yes.
When it attacks, do normal combat rules apply with defending?
Yes.
Critical Strike
If I double twice, is it multiplied by 4?
Yes.
Crown Prince
If I sacrifice Crown Prince (e.g. Moon Clan Werewolf, Cauldron Crones, etc.), does its deathrite still trigger?
Yes! When you sacrifice something, it dies, and thus triggers deathrite.
Crusade
The term "summon" means "enter the realm." So, does that mean I can play minions here for free?
No. This effect simply provides additional locations where you may summon your earth minions.
Death Dealer
Does it kill minions everywhere in the realm, even in the void or underground or underwater?
Yes.
Deathspeaker
At Death’s Door, does the Deathspeaker need to meet the threshold requirements?
Yes. Only the casting cost is reduced to 0.
Can any of my spellcasters cast a spell and still benefit from my avatar's ability?
Yes! As long as you control the spellcaster, the game sees it as a spell "you" cast, meaning the player.
When using the Deathspeaker’s ability, do I trigger Deathrite effects (perhaps because the minion is on The Geistwood)?
Normally no, because Deathrite only triggers when the minion dies, and the Deathspeaker's ability banishes the minion.
But, if you somehow kill the minion at the same time it enters the realm (e.g. Bottomless Pit), then Deathrite would trigger. The token dies because of Bottomless Pit (interrupting the Deathspeaker's ability), Deathrite resolves, then the token copy is banished like all tokens when it dies.
What happens if I try to insert a kill effect (e.g. Bottomless Pit) between the Genesis effect and the Banish effect?
The intent is that the Deathspeaker can speak to the dead, invoke their abilities, and then release them into the afterlife (whatever that may be). In the end, the minion will be banished, and technically you can treat this as: You may banish one dead minion each turn to cast a token copy of it, and for 0 if you’re on Death’s Door. Whenever you summon a minion this way, banish it.
See "Splitting Events on the Storyline" and the example with Tawny plus a site's genesis. The Deathspeaker's ability is analogous, since the token minion will appear, and before the rest of the Deathspeaker's ability can resolve, it will get split on the Storyline and the token minion's genesis ability will resolve (along with any other triggered abilities).
When using the Deathspeaker’s ability, do Genesis abilities trigger before the banishing effect?
Yes, because events on the storyline are split up when a card enters the realm. See the "Splitting Events on the Storyline" codex entry for more details.
Can I cast minions from my opponent’s cemetery?
Yes. You control it when it enters the realm, and then it gets banished.
Dodge Roll
If Dodge Roll’s mana cost is increased (e.g. Maddening Bells), can you cast it on your opponent’s turn?
No, because you don’t have any mana available on your opponent’s turn.
Dome of Osiros
If a minion here is attacked what happens?
It's not possible to declare an attack against a minion here. If you attack an avatar here and a minion defends, the minion becomes a legal target, per the Defend rules.
Does this site protect minions from cards with the word "attack" in their name, like Leap Attack or Spin Attack?
No. Dome of Osiros only prevents "attacks" from the Move and Attack basic ability, or other card text that uses the word "attack" (e.g. Crave Golem).
Dream-Quest
Can I cast this on my Avatar, since they are a spellcaster?
Your avatar can't be disabled per their characteristics. Thus, they won't be able to go to sleep, and therefore won't be able to wake up. If you cast this on your Avatar, it will have no effect.
Drought
Can Floodplain still flood a site affected by Drought?
Yes. See "Example - Flood vs. Drought" in the codex.
How do Drought and Flood interact?
See "Example - Flood vs. Drought" in the codex.
Druid
Does the Druid's flip side ability work with Poisonous Dagger?
No. Treat it as: Whenever an enemy enters a nearby site, that site deals 1 damage to that enemy.
Can the Druid's flip side ability give the Druid kill credit?
Yes. In the kill credit calculation, this ability wouldn't apply at priority 1, since the site is dealing the damage, not the Druid. But, it's still the Druid's triggered ability, and therefore would grant credit at priority 3. See the "kill credit" codex entry for more details.
If a site loses its abilities, does the Druid's flip side ability still apply? Can this affect Bedrock?
Yes. It's the Druid's triggered ability, not an ability of the site. The Druid's triggered ability causes the site to deal the damage.
Dwarven Digging Team
If I have Dwarven Digging Team in play, can I choose to summon minions underground without a printed Burrowing ability?
No. The units don't gain Burrowing until they're at nearby sites, and you must choose the summoning location when you cast the spell. When you cast the minion spell, it doesn't have burrowing yet, and thus you cannot pick an underground location.
Earthquake
What does "normal size" mean?
Anything that occupies exactly 1 location.
Does this carry along oversized units or auras that occupy more than one square?
No.
If the 2x2 area includes some sites and some void, can you rearrange the sites into the void squares?
No. You can rearrange sites with other sites as you wish, but the void squares must remain the same.
East-West Dragon
Does diagonal movement include “sideways” movement?
No.
Edge of the World
What happens if Edge of the World's ability is lost (e.g. Smokestacks of Gnaak), then Edge of the World gets surrounded by sites, then its ability is regained (e.g. Smokestacks of Gnaak moves away)?
In this rare case, Edge of the World would destroy itself.
What happens if an effect causes edge of the world to not be adjacent to the void?
The effect does not resolve. Examples:
If you try to move Cloud City to the only void square adjacent to Edge of the World, Cloud City won’t move.
If you try to play a site from your hand, it won’t work and your site will remain in your hand.
If you use Earthquake to rearrange sites in a way that Edge of the World isn’t adjacent to void, the entire rearrangement fails (and then you still try to burrow.)
If you have two Magellan Globes in play at the same location and they’re the only thing keeping Edge of the World adjacent to void and they are Dispelled, one is destroyed and other isn’t.
Enchantress
Turning auras into minions!? Is this real?
Yes, indeed. Enchantress is a very versatile Avatar, and one that twists the rules to create very interesting games. Be sure to check these FAQs as well as the auras you're looking to animate. Since many auras occupy a 2x2 area in the realm, you may want to learn about oversized units as well.
What is the proper timing of resolution for this effect?
Whenever you cast a spell, before that spell resolves, but after targets are specified. See the "storyline" entry for more details.
Can you animate your opponent’s auras?
Yes, as long as you can target them (i.e. they are in the same region as the Enchantress). Your opponent still controls the aura minion.
Can any of my spellcasters cast a spell and still benefit from my avatar's ability?
Yes! As long as you control the spellcaster, the game sees it as a spell "you" cast, meaning the player.
Do animated aura change size?
No.
If Magellan Globe is in play and an Oversized unit on the top row moves “up” one row to wrap around to the bottom, what happens?
Since Magellan Globe is an ongoing effect that connects the top and bottom edges, the oversized unit can occupy 2 locations on the top row and 2 locations on the bottom row. Ensure that game state is clear, using notes as needed.
If Polar Explorers or Ruler of Thul are in play and an oversized unit on the top row moves “up” one row to wrap around to the bottom, what happens?
This ability only allows movement across the borders, not ongoing occupation. Units cannot balance on the edge of the realm and an oversized unit that finds its way there falls to one side or the other. Its controller places it in the closest legal position, controller's choice if tied.
If Magellan Globe leaves play when a card is spanning the edge of the realm, what happens?
Units cannot balance on the edge of the realm and an oversized unit that finds its way there falls to one side or the other. Its controller places it in the closest legal position, controller's choice if tied.
Entangle Terrain
What does "lasts 3 of your turns" technically mean?
Add a counter at the end of each of your turns, and dispel it when there are 3 counters.
Does this affect subsurface units, as well as surface?
Yes, since it doesn't say "atop." Note that it doesn't affect minions in the void, since the void isn't a site.
Erik's Curiosa
Do I really have to rip it to pieces?
Please see the golden rule! The point is to actually, literally rip the card up, so it will never be playable again. It is banished after you rip it.
How does this work in a tournament, especially in best of 1 games, when I rip this?
See the rules for that specific tournament, but by default the card is playable. Tournament organizers have latitude to set rules for their events, but one reasonable approach is that you use a deck missing one card for the rest of the tournament (and it's legal to do so).
If my opponent gains control of my Erik's Curiosa and then they rip it, who gets to pick the card?
They get a card of the controller's choice from the controller’s collection (so they get to pick). Hopefully you can still be friends! (They must give you a moment to concede before they rip it.)
Does this effect let me break the normal restrictions on deck legality? e.g. duplicate Unique card, or duplicate any site for Pathfinder?
The card limits exist only when the game starts; once the game begins, various effects can change your deck composition. So, yes, you are free to get an extra copy of a Unique card via Erik's Curiosa, as long as the card is actually in your collection.
Evil Presence
The term "summon" means "enter the realm." So, does that mean I can play minions here for free?
No. This effect simply provides additional locations where you may summon your minions.
Far East Assassin
When you use the ability, what happens to the “thrown” artifact?
It is no longer carried by the Assassin, and is uncontrolled in the target’s location. Any unit may pick it up normally (including the Assassin, if it happens to be in that location).
Does the Assassin lose Stealth if it uses its ability?
Yes. It’s an activated special ability, so Stealth is lost per the normal Stealth rules.
Fey Changeling
Can this be summoned to an inhospitable location (e.g. underground) and die, but still have a chance to use its genesis ability first?
No. You cannot choose to summon a minion underground, underwater, or in the void unless it has the appropriate ability.
The term "summon" means "enter the realm." So, does that mean I can play this minion for free?
No. This effect simply provides additional locations where you may summon this minion.
Fire Harpoons!
Does the “adjacent Water site” need to be in the same region as the caster?
No. Because the Water site is not targeted, and because the card text uses “site” instead of “location,” the site does not need to be in the same region as the caster.
Can I cast this spell without a target just to draw a card?
No. To cast a spell, you must specify all targets.
Does the target need to be in the same region as the caster?
No. Normally the answer is yes, but the card text “above or below” means that normal targeting restrictions are ignored, and the caster can be in any region (surface, underground, underwater, or in the void). As long as there is an adjacent Water site to the caster and a minion occupying that water site, it will get pulled to the caster’s location.
Firebolts
What does "one at a time" mean?
Resolve the first bolt (including any deathrite or other "kills" abilities), then resolve the next one, then resolve the 3rd one. Each bolt must go in the same direction.
Fisherman's Family
Are these family cards of Castle Servants, Common Cottagers, Blacksmith Family, and Fisherman's Family considered Air, Earth, Fire, and Water spells, respectively?
Yes. You can see the spell’s colored frame matches those elements, so Castle Servants is an Air spell, Common Cottagers is an Earth spell, Blacksmith Family is a Fire spell, and Fisherman’s Family is a Water Spell.
Flame Wave
Can the grid pattern be flipped horizontally?
Yes. You pick the leftmost or rightmost column, and that is where the Flame Wave starts.
Can the grid pattern be rotated 90 degrees?
No.
Flamecaller
Is the projectile considered fire damage?
Yes.
Flaming Sword
If the attack damage was increased or decreased, does the splash damage include the change?
Yes. For example, Critical Strike will splash double damage.
If a unit has two Flaming Swords, do they each splash damage?
Yes. Have fun dual wielding!
Is the splash damage a strike?
No. It’s damage done by the sword artifact.
Does the splash damage occur whenever the unit strikes?
Yes. For example, that includes Grapple Shot or other strikes, not just attacks from the Move and Attack basic ability.
If the struck unit isn’t an enemy, is any damage splashed?
No. If there's no "struck unit," then it has no location. Also, there are no “other enemies” when there’s no enemy initially. See "enemy" in the codex.
If the Battlemage with a Flaming Sword attacks one enemy, and then another enemy dies as a result of the Flaming Sword, does the Battlemage get to draw a card?
Yes. An attack was made, and then a minion was killed. As long as your attacking unit used the Move and Attack ability and then got kill credit, this ability triggers.
Flanking Maneuver
Do the locations need to be in the same region?
No. The squares merely need to be a Knight’s move apart. Teleportation ignores normal movement restrictions.
Flood
How do Drought and Flood interact?
See "Example - Flood vs. Drought" in the codex.
Floodplain
Can Floodplain still flood a site affected by Drought?
Yes. See "Example - Flood vs. Drought" in the codex.
Can I use Floodplain before Maelström triggers?
No. Floodplain is an activated ability, which can only be activated during your Main Phase.
Free City
Can my Free City be struck by opposing units, and if so, will it take damage?
Yes, it can be struck, and any strike damage to your Free City will cause your avatar to lose the same amount of life.
How do the strikes work?
Normally, only units can strike, but card text allows the Free City site to strike as if it were a unit with 3 power.
Can Free City die?
It’s striking as if it were a unit, but it’s still a site. Therefore, it won’t die due to damage. It can still be destroyed by a specific destruction effect (e.g. Sinkhole), but it won't die due to taking damage.
When can it attack?
Free City’s ability is a passive ability that gives it the option to attack and defend “normally” once per turn, as if it were a 3 power unit (while actually remaining a site). Therefore, it can only attack on your turn, and defend (presumably on your opponent’s turn) when a unit or Free City itself is attacked by an enemy unit occupying Free City. If Free City would somehow have the chance to both attack AND defend on your turn, it can only do one.
What can it attack?
The key word is “here.” Clearly burrowed units are “here.” Airborne and Stealthed units are also “here.” But, to attack Airborne or Stealth, a unit needs some special ability (e.g. Airborne, Ranged, etc.) Since Free City doesn’t have those abilities, it can’t actually target Airborne or Stealthed units with an attack.
How does the attack work?
Since the ability to attack is granted by a card effect and not a basic ability, no tapping is needed, but it’s still an attack. Therefore, players may declare defenders for the attack normally.
Can Free City attack the turn it enters play?
Yes, because only minions are subject to summoning sickness.
If an oversized unit occupies Free City while it attacks a different site, can Free City defend against that attack?
No, since the attack is not happening on Free City.
Frontier Settlers
Can Frontier Settlers play a site that isn’t adjacent to your other sites?
Yes.
Geomancer
When I play an Earth site using the second ability, do I also place a rubble in an adjacent void?
No. You only place a rubble if you play an Earth site using the first ability.
When I play an Earth site using the first ability, where does the rubble appear?
The rubble must be placed adjacent to your Geomancer. If there's no void adjacent to your Geomancer, then no rubble is placed.
Does Mirror Realm (copying an earth site) or Valley of Delight (choosing earth) count for Geomancer's first ability?
Yes. Mirror Realm works because it applies as it enters the realm. Valley of Delight works because the Genesis effect of the site interrupts the resolution of the Geomancer's ability; when the second part of Geomancer's ability actually resolves and looks at the site, the site is indeed an earth site. See "Splitting Events on the Storyline" for more details on Valley of Delight interaction, analogous to the Tawny example and splitting the Druid's ability.
Ghost Ship
If I teleport my Ghost Ship from the void to a site, does its ability trigger?
Yes.
If I summon a Spirit from my opponent’s cemetery, do I control it?
Yes. (And as usual for an explicit summon effect, you don’t need threshold and you don’t pay mana.)
Giant Shark
Will it fight units that are Airborne or Stealthed?
Yes. This isn't an attack (which has targeting restrictions), but actually a fight (which simply specifies who fights based on card text).
What path can the Shark take?
The controller of the Shark specifies a path for the Shark that is the fewest possible steps to the other unit. If there are multiple equally short paths, the controller chooses.
Will it fight your own units?
Yes.
Does “enters” include minions that are summoned?
Yes.
If a unit moves within the same site (e.g. surface to underwater, or underwater to surface), does Shark trigger?
No, since the unit is not entering or moving between different sites.
What happens if I summon my minion with Genesis into my opponent's Shark's body of water?
See the storyline codex entry for details.
Can the Shark's path include movement from surface to underwater, or underwater to surface, if needed?
Yes, as long as the path specified is the fewest steps possible to the target.
If a Shark moves through a Silence aura, what happens?
The movement and fight still occur. The specific resolution is: Unit enters the water site, Shark's ability triggers. You specify the movement steps to reach the target, and they all go on the Storyline. Shark starts moving. It enters the Silence aura, but the effects of the ability are still on the Storyline and aren't removed, so they continue resolving normally.
Gilded Aegis
A minion with Gilded Aegis is on a site chosen for Scorched Earth. The Aegis and the minion are being destroyed simultaneously. Does the Aegis have a chance to save the minion before it’s destroyed?
Yes.
If forcefully burrowed without burrowing, will a unit with Gilded Aegis still die?
Yes.
Gnome Hollows
If I have Crusade or House Arn Bannermen affecting my Gnome Hollows, may I summon a 2-power minion there?
Yes. It's first summoned (enters the realm), then ongoing effects are applied (e.g. Crusade).
If Megamoeba starts at 2 power, can it move into Gnome Hollows (thus getting to 3 power)?
Yes. First, Megamoeba enters, then it grows in power immediately after entering.
If the most direct path is blocked (Gnome Hollows, Wall of Ice) will the grappling unit move around those obstacles to reach its target?
No. "Dragged" is equivalent to "Pull," and "Pull" requires each location entered to be closer to the destination. Making any detours wouldn't be getting closer to the Avatar, so the unit cannot take that path.
Grapple Shot
The alpha and beta text is different, which should I use?
The Beta text is correct.
Do I resolve all the steps at once, or can effects (e.g. Bottomless Pit) interrupt the movement?
See the storyline codex entry for details.
Can a disabled unit Grapple Shot?
No, since it would be shooting a projectile, and disabled units can't do that.
If I Grapple Shot a minion with Submerge through an area affected by Mariner's Curse, what happens?
When the Grapple Shot projectile hits the unit, the game adds specific movement steps for the ally to the Storyline: Move A (surface) -> B (surface), Move B (surface) -> C (surface). Then, we start resolving those steps. If Mariner's Curse is on site B, once the unit being dragged reaches site B, it will be submerged, and live. Then the game tries to resolve Move B (surface) -> C (surface), which fails, since the unit isn't on the surface of site B anymore. Thus, there's no strike from Grapple Shot since it didn't reach the hit unit's location.
If the most direct path is blocked (Gnome Hollows, Wall of Ice) will the grappling unit move around those obstacles to reach its target?
No. "Dragged" is equivalent to "Pull," and "Pull" requires each location entered to be closer to the destination. Making any detours wouldn't be getting closer to the Avatar, so the unit cannot take that path.
Great Old One
How does Drought interact with Great Old One?
These are both passive effects, so whichever was played last takes precedence.
What does it actually mean to permanently flood the realm, including voids?.
All sites (including rubble) are flooded for the rest of the game, even sites that enter the realm later.
Great Wall
The foil and non-foil beta cards have different text. Which is correct?
The non-foil beta text is correct. You may use a foil beta Great Wall in tournament play (or the alpha version), but it must be played with the non-foil beta text; ensure your opponent knows the proper text when it's played.
Does this stop all kinds of movement through the top border (e.g. Grapple Shot), or just the Move and Attack basic ability?
The Great Wall will stop most kinds of movement on the surface, with a few notable exceptions. Teleportation doesn't cross borders, and if a unit "moves as if adjacent" (e.g. Waypoint Portal), that also doesn't cross borders. Finally airborne units can fly over the wall as they are not moving "on the ground."
The alpha and beta text is different, which should I use?
The beta text is correct.
Grim Reaper
How does this ability work?
When Reaper kills a minion, the minion is banished instead of dying. In addition, any copies of that minion in play (regardless of who controls them) are also banished. Finally, you search the owner's library of the minion that was killed (and only that player).
Grösse Poltergeist
If a unit is carrying the animated artifact, who retains control?
When the artifact is animated, it becomes a minion, and thus cannot be carried. The controller of Grösse Poltergeist gets control.
If the unit carrying the animated artifact can also carry minions, who retains control?
Grösse Poltergeist says you gain control, but the game rules say that anyone carrying the artifact gains control. Grösse Poltergiest takes precedence due to the golden rule, and the controller of Grösse Poltergeist gets control.
Guile Sirens
Can it target a unit in a different region?
No. Targeting (by default) requires the source and the target to be in the same region.
Does the target minion use its enhanced move abilities?
Yes. When an effect has a unit “take steps,” it uses its enhanced move abilities granted by keywords such Voidwalk, Burrowing, Submerge, and Airborne.
Does it tap the target minion? Can this movement be intercepted?
No and no. This isn’t the Move and Attack basic ability, which is what requires tapping and can be intercepted.
Consider the group of sites below. An oversized minion occupies 1-2-4-5. Guile Sirens is #5. Can the oversized minion be pulled in any way?
1 | 2 | 3 |
4 | 5 | 6 |
7 | 8 | 9 |
Yes. When pulling or pushing an oversized unit, choose a single location the oversized unit occupies (and meets the requirement of the effect), and push/pull from there. So, you could choose Site 2: Oversized minion is pulled South, and ends up at 4-5-7-8. OR, choose Site 4: Oversized minion is pulled East, and ends up at 2-3-5-6. OR, choose Site 5: Oversized minion isn’t pulled at all.
Is the ability mandatory?
Yes. It doesn’t use the word “may.”
Headless Haunt
What if my Headless Haunt tries to teleport into an illegal location? (e.g. Gnome Hollows)
The teleport effect fails, and it remains where it was.
Heat Ray
How does this work?
Treat the text as "Shoot a piercing projectile. Deal 2 damage to each hit unit."
Highland Falconer
What does “shuffle if needed” mean?
If you searched your spellbook, shuffle it. If you end up summoning a beast from your hand, you may still have searched your spellbook if you wanted.
Horn of Caerleon
If my minion gains charge from the Horn to Move and Attack and then leaves the Horn's range, can it finish the attack?
Yes, as the minion has already tapped, the rest of the Move and Attack will resolve. Once a charge has been sounded in the heat of battle, there’s no stopping it!
Ice Lance
How does this work?
Treat the text as: Shoot a piercing projectile. Deal 3, then 2, then 1 damage to up to one hit unit at each of the first three locations along its path.
If Ice Lance doesn't hit anything at the first location where the projectile appears, and then hits something at the 2nd location, how much damage does it do at that 2nd location?
2 damage at the 2nd location. Ice Lance's damage decreases based on locations the projectile enters, not based on how many things it hits or doesn't hit.
Imperial Road
If I play a Village on my opponent's turn via Imperial Road, can I pay 1 mana to summon a Foot Soldier?
The genesis effect triggers, but you don’t have any mana available on your opponent’s turn, so no.
Infiltrate
If my Infiltrated unit attacks my opponent's undefended site, do I retain control of it?
No. Treat card text as: "Target enemy minion gains Stealth and taps. You control it until it no longer has Stealth."
Iron Shackles
Can I target a burrowed minion or a voidwalk minion?
Not unless you have a burrowed spellcaster or a spellcaster in the void. Since the effect uses the word "target," the spellcaster must be in the same region as the target. (There are four regions: surface, underground, underwater, void.)
Island Leviathan
Does it turn into a Monster minion?
Yes. It becomes a minion with the Monster type, and no longer a site.
If the flooded Rubble gets replaced with a site, is the new site also flooded?
No.
When it awakens, is it summoning sick?
Assuming it was in play prior to the turn it awakened, it is not summoning sick (since it was already under your control prior to this turn).
Is the ability optional?
Yes. It is an activated ability with no cost and a requirement of 8 water threshold. Like all activated abilities, you can only activate it during your Main Phase when nothing else is happening, but you are not required to activate it.
Does it continue to provide water affinity after it transforms into a Monster?
Yes. The flooded rubble does not provide any affinity to you (since you don’t control it), but the Island Leviathan itself does provide affinity, since that’s aligned with the golden rule. Obviously if the Monster dies, then you lose that affinity.
Jihad
The term "summon" means "enter the realm." So, does that mean I can play minions here for free?
No. This effect simply provides additional locations where you may summon your fire minions.
Joust!
When exactly do the minions fight?
After both units have taken their step they will fight from their new locations. If either doesn't move, they haven't passed each other and therefore no joust takes place.
Karkemish Chimera
Units A, B, and C are being attacked; can unit D defend the attack and protect A, B, and C, or just one of them?
Just one; you must choose unit A, B, or C to be defended.
Units A, B, and C are being attacked; can unit A defend the attack against B, so that B takes no damage?
No, since A is already being attacked, they cannot take the Defend reaction.
Do each of the attacked units take 6 damage, or is the damage split as the attacker chooses?
The damage is split as the attacker chooses.
King Arthur
How does the Philosopher's Stone work with multi-element cards, such as King Arthur and Queen Guienevere? Would King Arthur, who requires 4 mana, cost 3 or 0 Mana to cast using the Stone
Cards that have different element symbols count as a spell of each of those affinities. So Arthur and Guinevere are each an Air spell, an Earth spell, a Fire spell, and a Water spell, all at the same time. But you are still casting them together as a single spell. So, assuming Arthur is your spellcaster’s first spell of the turn, the Stone will offer a discount of 1 mana for Arthur, making him cost 3 mana.
This also means that when Arthur is played he uses up the Stone for that spellcaster's turn because he’s simultaneously the first Air, Earth, Fire, and Water spell played this turn. So the Spellcaster cannot continue to use the stone that turn.
King of the Realm
What Mortals are affected by the first ability?
All Mortals, anywhere in the realm.
If a Mortal with Deathrite dies, who gets the Deathrite ability?
The King’s controller, since Deathrite triggers while the units are technically still in the realm.
What happens if a second King of the Realm enters play?
See "Example - Two Kings of the Realm" in the codex.
If my opponent plays a Mortal with a Genesis ability and I have a King in play, who gets the Genesis ability?
The player with the King gets the benefit, since they control the Mortal as soon as it’s in play.
Kingdom of Agartha
If Kingdom of Agartha's ability is active, can I choose to summon minions underground without a printed Burrowing ability?
Yes. Kingdom of Agartha affects minions everywhere.
When is Kingdom of Agartha's ability active?
Whenever you have three earth affinity! It is not optional; it's a passive ability that's always on while you have the necessary affinity.
Kythera Mechanism
How does this interact with Court Jester?
You don't get to look at your opponent's hand, but you do get to choose which of their cards they discard (e.g. site or spell).
If two are played, which one takes precedence?
The most recently played one. See "ongoing effects" for more details.
If there are two in play (and mine was played first), then I drop mine and pick it back up, do I take precedence?
No. Competing passive abilities are tracked based on when the card entered play.
Land Deed
What happens if I have a minion that occupies more than one site (e.g. Mountain Giant) and also carries Land Deed?
Mountain Giants with Land Deeds are quite serious about the law! Though the Land Deed itself only occupies a single location, it grants an ability to its bearer. Therefore, all sites occupied by the unit carrying the Land Deed are yours!
If I gain control of a site in the middle of my turn, does it produce mana immediately?
No. Sites produce mana at the start of your turn and when they enter the realm. Since the site with Land Deed was already in the realm, it doesn’t produce mana merely because you took control of it.
What happens if I have a Land Deed on Rubble?
You control the Rubble and your avatar will lose life if the Rubble takes damage, but the Rubble still doesn’t provide mana. i.e. you own a hunk of worthless rock!
Leap Attack
Does this card count as an "attack" since it has the word "attack" in its name?
Sorry for the confusion, but no, this is not actually an attack! You only get an "attack" from the Move and Attack basic ability, or card text that specifically uses the word attack (e.g. Crave Golem). This card text uses the word "strike," which means the unit simply deals damage equal to its power (and there's no chance for the opponent to Defend, and you can strike Stealthed or Airborne units, etc.)
Lightning Bolt
Can I lightning bolt the void?
Yes, but only if the spellcaster is in the void (since Lightning Bolt targets, the spellcaster must be in the same region).
Lucky Charm
The alpha and beta text is different, which should I use?
The beta text is correct.
Maddening Bells
If Maddening Bells tries to increase the cost of a spell that has an alternate casting cost of 0 (e.g. Deathspeaker ability while on death's door, Aramos Mercenaries), what happens?
The spell costs 2. See "Cost" for more details.
When summoning minions, does Maddening Bells care about the location where the minion is summoned, or where the spellcaster is?
Only where the spellcaster is, not the summoning location.
If the Spellcaster is nearby Maddening Bells but the spell affects something not nearby, does it still cost 2 extra mana?
Yes. Maddening Bells’s ability only cares about the Spellcaster’s position.
Maelström
Does the movement get resolved simultaneously?
Yes, all the steps are simultaneously resolved (which might then provoke a variety of triggers).
If I choose to pull a minion, do I have to pull all minions?
Yes.
Can I use Floodplain before Maelström triggers?
No. Floodplain is an activated ability, which can only be activated during your Main Phase.
Consider the group of sites below. An oversized minion occupies 1-2-4-5. Maelström is #5. Can the oversized minion be pulled in any way?
1 | 2 | 3 |
4 | 5 | 6 |
7 | 8 | 9 |
Yes. When pulling or pushing an oversized unit, choose a single location the oversized unit occupies (and meets the requirement of the effect), and push/pull from there. So, assuming Sites 2 and 4 are water sites as well, you could choose Site 2: Oversized minion is pulled South, and ends up at 4-5-7-8. OR, choose Site 4: Oversized minion is pulled East, and ends up at 2-3-5-6. OR, choose Site 5: Oversized minion isn’t pulled at all.
Magellan Globe
If Magellan Globe is in play, can an aura or an oversized unit be cast on the edge of the realm, spanning the realm?
Yes. Ensure that the game state is clear, so all players know which sites the aura occupies, using notes as needed.
If Magellan Globe is in play and an Oversized unit on the top row moves “up” one row to wrap around to the bottom, what happens?
Since Magellan Globe is an ongoing effect that connects the top and bottom edges, the oversized unit can occupy 2 locations on the top row and 2 locations on the bottom row. Ensure that game state is clear, using notes as needed.
If Magellan Globe leaves play when a card is spanning the edge of the realm, what happens?
Units cannot balance on the edge of the realm and an oversized unit that finds its way there falls to one side or the other. Its controller places it in the closest legal position, controller's choice if tied.
What happens if I cast a spell that does grid-based damage?
The grid can span edges of the realm as needed, since they are connected.
Will effects that check "adjacent" or "nearby" (e.g. Poison Nova) span edges of the realm?
Yes.
Can projectiles go around the edges of the realm?
Yes, as long as they don't change regions. There are exactly four regions in Sorcery: Surface, Void, Underwater, Underground.
Can I play Earthquake or other similar 2x2 area effects around the edge of the realm with Magellan Globe in play?
Yes.
Can Airborne units in one corner of the realm fly directly to the opposite corner if Magellan Globe is in the realm?
Yes.
Are there any other corner cases for Magellan Globe?
I think you mean edge cases! Let us know if you think of any more we should add. In general, apply the golden rule and have fun!
Magnetic Muzzle
Is this effect actually a silence effect?
Yes. Treat "loses all non-basic abilities" as "silenced." See the silenced codex entry for more details.
Mariner's Curse
What if this is animated by an Enchantress?
If an animated Mariner’s Curse moves and enters a water site, it will submerge itself (if possible) and die (assuming it doesn’t have Submerge). If it hasn’t died, it will then return itself to its owner’s hand. It will not have a chance to attack before its effect resolves, because the move happens before the attack.
If I Grapple Shot a minion with Submerge through an area affected by Mariner's Curse, what happens?
When the Grapple Shot projectile hits the unit, the game adds specific movement steps for the ally to the Storyline: Move A (surface) -> B (surface), Move B (surface) -> C (surface). Then, we start resolving those steps. If Mariner's Curse is on site B, once the unit being dragged reaches site B, it will be submerged, and live. Then the game tries to resolve Move B (surface) -> C (surface), which fails, since the unit isn't on the surface of site B anymore. Thus, there's no strike from Grapple Shot since it didn't reach the hit unit's location.
An oversized unit occupies a specific site and then moves. After the move, it still occupies that site. Did it enter the site?
No. It was already there, and remained there (though it may have entered different sites due to its move).
Mask of Mayhem
If I double twice, is it multiplied by 4?
Yes.
Master Tracker
Once the Master Tracker leaves play, does a future enemy that arrives with Stealth still have stealth?
Yes. But enemies that already lost Stealth won't regain it.
Megamoeba
If I play Dodge Roll on my Megamoeba, does the attack still go through because the Megamoeba is still occupying the original location?
Yes, the target is still valid, but Megamoeba now has +1 power from the extra location it occupies thanks to Dodge Roll.
If my opponent uses an effect that moves sites (e.g. Atlas Wanderer, Earthquake, etc.), what happens?
Megamoeba moves with the site. Megamoeba is mostly treated a normal size unit for movement effects.
If Megamoeba starts at 2 power, can it move into Gnome Hollows (thus getting to 3 power)?
Yes. First, Megamoeba enters, then it grows in power immediately after entering.
What happens if Megamoeba is the target of Whirling Blades?
The Megamoeba moves 2 steps by extending a pseudopod twice (possibly from two different starting locations), and gains 2 power. Then, it strikes all enemies in the starting and destination locations of the pseudopods that took the steps.
When the Megamoeba is teleported, does its passive ability still apply?
Yes. A single pseudopod enters the teleportation destination, and the Megamoeba can become a single oversized unit that spans non-adjacent squares. The Megamoeba is weird.
What happens if Megamoeba is in a Silence aura?
As soon as it enters the Silence aura, it loses its abilities. Therefore, it stops occupying all the locations it ever occupied and shrinks to a single location within the Silence aura. While in the Silence aura, it also doesn’t get +1 power for each location.
Can Megamoeba declare a movement to a location it already occupies? (e.g. if it wanted to move an artifact it was carrying)
Yes. Megamoeba is weird.
What happens when Megamoeba gets pulled / pushed?
Choose a specific location it occupies and pull / push a single pseudopod from there.
If the Megamoeba occupies a site with an enemy, can the Megamoeba take the Move and Attack basic ability to move first, and then attack that original enemy, thus growing in power beforehand?
Yes.
If the Megamoeba occupies a site with an enemy, and the Megamoeba moves to a different site without attacking, can the enemy intercept?
Yes! If Megamoeba uses Move and Attack, then doesn't attack, any enemy that shares a location with them may tap to intercept.
What happens if Megamoeba gains burrow or submerge?
It can occupy both the surface location and the subsurface location on a site, and each occupied location will grant +1 power, per card text. 40 power Megamoeba, here we come!
What happens if Megamoeba is forcefully burrowed or submerged without the burrow or submerge ability?
If any part of unit occupies an inhospitable location, it dies. So, the Megamoeba would die in this case.
What happens when the Megamoeba gets carried?
It occupied all the locations it was carried through.
Merlin
How does Merlin’s ability work and what does “any time” actually permit?
This is a passive ability, usable any time on your turn, including during your start phase before you draw a card. But, you may still only cast spells when they are normally permitted to be cast (i.e. during your Main Phase when nothing else is on the storyline other than this ability). Technically, if a Crave Golem were attacking during your Start Phase, Merlin could cast a Dodge Roll then!
Meteor Shower
Can I choose sites that share a corner?
Yes. "Border" means adjacent squares, not including diagonals.
Miracle Workers
If multiple minions including Miracle Workers die at the same time on Geistwood, can Miracle Workers return themselves and/or another minion that's dying to your hand?
No, because Miracle Workers only return minions from the cemetery, and deathrites resolve while the minions are still in the realm. The Miracle Workers could return other minions that died earlier that turn and were in the cemetery.
Mirage
What happens if I try to use Mirage's alternate play text when it's played via Pathfinder?
When using the Pathfinder's ability, you reveal the site, then play it in an adjacent Rubble or void (then Pathfinder moves there). Mirage's ability cannot be combined with Pathfinder.
Mirror Realm
How do Smokestacks of Gnaak and Mirror Realm interact?
By the time Mirror Realm enters the realm, it's already a copy. Thus, it can copy a nearby site, and then promptly loses all abilities of that copied site (but still is the copy, without abilities). See "Apply Ongoing Effects In Order" in the codex for nitty-gritty details.
What if Mirror Realm loses its abilities after it enters play (e.g. Smokestacks of Gnaak is played later)?
Mirror Realm remains a copy, but any abilities that were printed on the original site are now ignored.
Does Mirror Realm also copy the rarity of the chosen site?
Yes, it’s as if you had the exact same card.
Can Mirror Realm copy Rift Valley and enter the realm in the special way, as long as it ends up nearby the Rift Valley that it’s copying?
Yes.
Monastery Gargoyle
If Monastery Gargoyle is turned into an artifact and not being carried, it has no controller, so it cannot be reverted back into a minion. What is the design intent?
Monastery Gargoyle should stay under your control. You can treat Monastery Gargoyle's text as "... choose whether Monastery Gargoyle has Airborne or is a Monument."
Morgana le Fay
Where do I keep Morgana's hand of cards?
Anywhere you normally would, but make sure they don't get mixed up with your own. When Morgana leaves the realm, any remaining spells go to the cemetery.
Mother Nature
Does “here” mean Mother Nature’s location or site?
“Here” references Mother Nature’s exact location.
Mountain Giant
What happens if a Mountain Giant occupies a Silence aura?
A card's size is generally set when it enters the realm, and is considered one of its characteristics, not an ability. It will not resize.
If Magellan Globe is in play and an Oversized unit on the top row moves “up” one row to wrap around to the bottom, what happens?
Since Magellan Globe is an ongoing effect that connects the top and bottom edges, the oversized unit can occupy 2 locations on the top row and 2 locations on the bottom row. Ensure that game state is clear, using notes as needed.
If Polar Explorers or Ruler of Thul are in play and an oversized unit on the top row moves “up” one row to wrap around to the bottom, what happens?
This ability only allows movement across the borders, not ongoing occupation. Units cannot balance on the edge of the realm and an oversized unit that finds its way there falls to one side or the other. Its controller places it in the closest legal position, controller's choice if tied.
If Magellan Globe leaves play when a card is spanning the edge of the realm, what happens?
Units cannot balance on the edge of the realm and an oversized unit that finds its way there falls to one side or the other. Its controller places it in the closest legal position, controller's choice if tied.
Mountain Pass
You have a minion on my Mountain Pass. Can I summon a minion on the site?
Yes. Though summoning is included in “entering,” it is not moving on the ground. So you can summon all you want, since summoning isn’t moving.
Your minion attacks my Mountain Pass. Can my adjacent minion defend?
Technically, my adjacent minion (without Airborne or Voidwalk) could tap to declare a defense, but it wouldn’t move to the Mountain Pass, since your attacker is already there. So, my minion would just end up tapped where it started, without actually redirecting the attack. It would almost certainly be better to not declare the defense.
What does “enter this site on the ground” mean?
Entering on the ground only covers movement from the surface of an adjacent site to the surface of the Mountain Pass, excluding Airborne and teleportation.
I have a minion on my Mountain Pass, and a voidwalk minion on an adjacent square. Can I move from the void to Mountain Pass?
Yes, since moving on the ground requires the unit to start from the surface of a site. Since the void isn’t a site, moving from the void to Mountain Pass isn’t considered moving on the ground.
Mudflow
Once I target the site, do I also pick "surface" or "unburrow?"
No, you simply target the site, and then the proper action is applied. If a water site is the target, minions there are surfaced. If a land site is the target, minions there are unburrowed.
Occult Ritual
The alpha, alternate art version of this card from the pledge pack has the text "Spellcaster nearby," while the regular foil and non-foil versions have the text "Spellcaster here." which is correct?
The normal version is correct. The text should be "Spellcaster here." The alternate art version is not legal for tournament play.
Old Salt Anchorman
Does this ability protect my minions from movement effects like forceful burrowing (e.g. Bury), submerge (e.g. Drown), and teleportation (e.g. Chaos Twister)?
Yes, all of those effects are movement. With Chaos Twister, don't even attempt to blow the card if the target is an ally nearby Old Salt Anchorman.
Does this ability prevent my opponent from rearranging sites? (e.g. Earthquake, Atlas Wanderers)
No, your opponent can still rearrange sites, because that doesn't count as moving the units, just the sites.
Onyx Core
When does this artifact provide mana?
When it enters the realm, and at the start of its controller’s turn.
Orb of Ba'al Berith
Is the Orb the spellcaster for the copied spell?
Yes.
Ormund Harpooneers
Does the target need to be in the same region as the Harpooneers?
No. Normally the answer is yes, but the card text “above or below” means that normal targeting restrictions are ignored, and the Harpooneers can be in any region (surface, underground, underwater, or in the void). As long as there is an adjacent Water site to the Harpooneers and a minion occupying that water site, it will get pulled to the Harpooneers' location.
Does the “adjacent Water site” need to be in the same region as the Harpooneers?
No. Because the Water site is not targeted, and because the card text uses “site” instead of “location,” the site does not need to be in the same region as the Harpooneers.
Pact with the Devil
If a non-minion (e.g. River of Flame, or Orb of Ba'al Berith) is the spellcaster, can I sacrifice it?
Yes!
Do you round up your life loss, or round up your ending life?
Round up the life loss. For example, if you had 3 life, you'd lose 2, ending up at 1.
Pathfinder
The alpha and beta text is different, which should I use?
The beta text is correct.
Where does Pathfinder play its first site turn 1?
You must play your first site turn 1 under the Pathfinder per the game rules.
Does Pristine Paradise provide mana the turn the Pathfinder plays it from the atlas? That is, does the site have enough time to make mana before the Pathfinder moves onto it?
Yes, sites immediately generate mana when they come into play.
What happens if I try to use Mirage's alternate play text when it's played via Pathfinder?
When using the Pathfinder's ability, you reveal the site, then play it in an adjacent Rubble or void (then Pathfinder moves there). Mirage's ability cannot be combined with Pathfinder.
If I have no sites but it's not the first turn (e.g. Roots of Yggdrasil destroyed everything) and I use the Pathfinder's ability, am I forced to play the site under the Pathfinder's current location, or could I play the site adjacent?
Since it's not the first turn of the game, you aren't forced to play under yourself. The Pathfinder offers an alternate way to play sites, and thus you could play it adjacent if you wanted.
What happens if I try to use Rift Valley's ability when it's played via Pathfinder?
When using the Pathfinder's ability, you reveal the site, then play it in an adjacent Rubble or void (then Pathfinder moves there). With Rift Valley, you could use its ability to make a void adjacent to Pathfinder, then play it there (and Pathfinder would then move there).
Can I use this ability even if I'm surrounded by sites, in the hopes that Rift Valley is on top of my atlas?
Yes, you may use the ability. Assuming a normal site (and not Rift Valley) is on top of your atlas, you'll reveal it, do nothing, and then put it back on top of your atlas.
Payload Trebuchet
Do both units need to have been in play for a turn or have charge?
Yes. Summoning sick units can’t be tapped to pay costs.
Phantom Steed
What happens when a minion carries another minion that's carrying a minion?
Only the minions you're directly carrying count against your limit. Have fun at the carnival!
Philosopher's Stone
If I have two (e.g. via Replication), do the effects stack?
Yes.
How does the Philosopher's Stone work with multi-element cards, such as King Arthur and Queen Guienevere? Would King Arthur, who requires 4 mana, cost 3 or 0 Mana to cast using the Stone
Cards that have different element symbols count as a spell of each of those affinities. So Arthur and Guinevere are each an Air spell, an Earth spell, a Fire spell, and a Water spell, all at the same time. But you are still casting them together as a single spell. So, assuming Arthur is your spellcaster’s first spell of the turn, the Stone will offer a discount of 1 mana for Arthur, making him cost 3 mana.
This also means that when Arthur is played he uses up the Stone for that spellcaster's turn because he’s simultaneously the first Air, Earth, Fire, and Water spell played this turn. So the Spellcaster cannot continue to use the stone that turn.
Plague of Frogs
Where can I summon the frogs?
You can summon each of them to whatever locations will cause maximum annoyance.
Polar Explorers
If Polar Explorers or Ruler of Thul are in play and an oversized unit on the top row moves “up” one row to wrap around to the bottom, what happens?
This ability only allows movement across the borders, not ongoing occupation. Units cannot balance on the edge of the realm and an oversized unit that finds its way there falls to one side or the other. Its controller places it in the closest legal position, controller's choice if tied.
Pollimorph
Does a pollimorphed animated aura (e.g. Enchantress) return to an aura form later?
No. It is permanently a Frog token, and occupies a single location.
If the original minion occupied more than one location, what happens?
The controller of the transformation effect chooses which location the Frog token occupies.
Pristine Paradise
Does Pristine Paradise provide mana the turn the Pathfinder plays it from the atlas? That is, does the site have enough time to make mana before the Pathfinder moves onto it?
Yes, sites immediately generate mana when they come into play.
Purge Juggernaut
Does this kill itself?
No, only other minions. Treat it as: At the start of your turn, Purge Juggernaut taps and moves to an adjacent location. Kills all other minions there.
Quagmire
If the genesis resolves, and then my opponent plays Smokestacks of Gnaak nearby, does the Quagmire effect continue?
Yes. The genesis ability creates an effect that lasts until the start of your next turn.
Queen Guinevere
How does the Philosopher's Stone work with multi-element cards, such as King Arthur and Queen Guienevere? Would King Arthur, who requires 4 mana, cost 3 or 0 Mana to cast using the Stone
Cards that have different element symbols count as a spell of each of those affinities. So Arthur and Guinevere are each an Air spell, an Earth spell, a Fire spell, and a Water spell, all at the same time. But you are still casting them together as a single spell. So, assuming Arthur is your spellcaster’s first spell of the turn, the Stone will offer a discount of 1 mana for Arthur, making him cost 3 mana.
This also means that when Arthur is played he uses up the Stone for that spellcaster's turn because he’s simultaneously the first Air, Earth, Fire, and Water spell played this turn. So the Spellcaster cannot continue to use the stone that turn.
Raise Dead
Where can I summon the raised minion?
After randomly determining the dead minion, you may summon it anywhere.
Replication
Where can I conjure the copy?
You can conjure it anywhere.
Rhongomyniad
How does this work?
Treat it as: Bearer strikes first and has “Tap -> Throw Rhongomyniad as a piercing projectile. Deal 3 damage to each unit hit.”
After the throw, Rhongomyniad is in the final location along its path, and is not carried by any unit.
What happens when two things that strike first clash at the same time?
If multiple units in the same fight have an ability that allows them to strike first, they strike at the same time. Then any surviving units without that ability make their strikes.
Riddle Sphinx
Can I draw a site with this effect?
Try this riddle: Which spell will I draw? Fooled you! Neither of them! (Yes, you can draw a site.)
Rift Valley
Can you “pull apart” a row with a single site?
No. That’s not what “pull apart” means.
What is a technical definition of what’s happening when you use this card’s ability?
Choose a row or column with two adjacent sites and at least one void. Then, “pull apart” the two adjacent sites as follows: one site stays in its current square, and the other site (along with all other contiguous sites in its row or column) shifts one square. Put Rift Valley in the void that was just created. The shifting of sites and the arrival of Rift Valley happen simultaneously.
Can you play Rift Valley into an area affected by Atlantean Fate?
Yes, since Atlantean Fate only affects the site once it’s already in play, and Rift Valley modifies how it’s played in the first place.
How do Smokestacks of Gnaak and Rift Valley interact?
Rift Valley enters the realm using its ability, and only loses its ability once it's in the realm (which by then, it doesn't really matter).
When pulling apart the row or column to place the site, can Rift Valley be played non-adjacent to your other sites?
Yes.
Does this move oversized units or auras that occupy more than one square?
No.
What happens if I try to use Rift Valley's ability when it's played via Pathfinder?
When using the Pathfinder's ability, you reveal the site, then play it in an adjacent Rubble or void (then Pathfinder moves there). With Rift Valley, you could use its ability to make a void adjacent to Pathfinder, then play it there (and Pathfinder would then move there).
Can Mirror Realm copy Rift Valley and enter the realm in the special way, as long as it ends up nearby the Rift Valley that it’s copying?
Yes.
If I have no sites but it's not the first turn (e.g. Roots of Yggdrasil destroyed everything) and I play Rift Valley, am I forced to play the site under my avatar, or could I pull apart a row of Rubble and play it there?
Since it's not the first turn of the game, you aren't forced to play under yourself. Rift Valley offers an alternate way to play a site, and thus you could pull apart a row and play it there if you wanted.
Riptide
Can riptide pull a voidwalk minion in the void?
No, because minions in the void aren’t “aboveground.”
What are the details of pulling an oversized minion that occupies the water site and other locations?
When pulling or pushing a oversized unit, choose a single location the oversized unit occupies (and meets the requirement of the effect - e.g. adjacent), and push/pull from there.
River of Flame
If River of Flame casts a spell, choosing the surface, but there are Maddening Bells underground, is the River of Flame affected?
Yes! Those bells are so loud (and still nearby the caster).
If River of Flame casts a spell, must you pick a region that it's casting from?
Yes. Pick surface or underground when you cast the spell (or underwater if it's flooded).
Roaming Monster
The term "summon" means "enter the realm." So, does that mean I can play this minion for free?
No. This effect simply provides additional locations where you may summon this minion.
Rolling Boulder
What happens if Magellan Globe is in play and I push it along a complete row or column?
The Rolling Boulder continues until it would repeat a step (i.e. back to where it started), and then stops instead of repeating a step. It doesn't do 8 damage on the starting location, since a location is either along its path or not.
If there are two units on a site and one of them uses the boulder, does the other one get damaged?
Yes. It's dangerous to play with boulders.
What path does the boulder take?
It travels in a chosen cardinal direction, staying within the same region.
Roots of Yggdrasil
What happens to destroyed Rubble?
Nothing (it turns into more Rubble, and thus doesn't change).
Ruby Core
When does this artifact provide mana?
When it enters the realm, and at the start of its controller’s turn.
Ruler of Thul
If Polar Explorers or Ruler of Thul are in play and an oversized unit on the top row moves “up” one row to wrap around to the bottom, what happens?
This ability only allows movement across the borders, not ongoing occupation. Units cannot balance on the edge of the realm and an oversized unit that finds its way there falls to one side or the other. Its controller places it in the closest legal position, controller's choice if tied.
Scorched Earth
A minion with Gilded Aegis is on a site chosen for Scorched Earth. The Aegis and the minion are being destroyed simultaneously. Does the Aegis have a chance to save the minion before it’s destroyed?
Yes.
If I target Bedrock with Scorched Earth, the Bedrock obviously isn’t destroyed, but is everything else still destroyed?
Yes. (Remember Avatars cannot be destroyed.)
Can I choose zero sites?
Yes. “Any number” includes zero.
Scourge Zombies
If Scourge Zombies and an allied mortal die at the same time (e.g. Minor Explosion), does the Zombie's ability bring it back immediately?
No, since the Scourge Zombies must be in the cemetery for their ability to trigger when the mortal dies.
Sea Raider
If Sea Raider attacks a 3 power minion, killing it but also dying in the process, does the Raider have time to use their ability before they die?
Yes. After units are killed, there is time for effects to resolve (e.g. Deathrite) before minions are placed in cemeteries. This effect resolves in the same window of time as deathrites.
If I declare an attack against one target, but then a different enemy defends, does that satisfy this ability?
Yes. An attack was made, and then a minion was killed. As long as your attacking unit used the Move and Attack ability and then got kill credit, this ability is satisfied.
Seasoned Sellsword
If my avatar is nearby Seasoned Sellsword, can I discard a card for her ability even if I already control her?
Yes!
Seirawan Hydra
What does “non-lethal damage” mean?
Damage from the keyword ability Lethal. So 7 damage from a Major Explosion won't kill a Hydra, nor will a strike from a Wraetannis Titan. The damage must be Lethal, in which case a single point of Lethal damage will kill the Hydra.
Selfsame Simulacrum
If it tries to become a basic copy of an aura animated by Enchantress, what happens?
Selfsame Simulacrum becomes an aura (not a minion), since that’s the actual text on the animated aura. As soon as Selfsame Simulacrum is an aura, it expands to its proper size based on card text (and default aura rules), and must continue to occupy the location that was specified during casting.
Can it enter the realm Submerged if it copies a Submerged minion (or Voidwalk, or Burrowing)?
No. When you cast a minion spell, you specify where the minion will enter the realm at time of casting. When the minion actually enters the realm (i.e. it’s summoned), that’s when Selfsame Simulacrum’s copy ability applies. Without Submerge / Burrowing / Voidwalk when it’s cast, Selfsame Simulacrum can’t use those abilities to change where it’s summoned.
Does it copy Genesis abilities?
Yes.
What if it loses its abilities (e.g. Silence aura)?
Selfsame Simulacrum remains a copy, but any abilities that were printed on the original copy are now ignored.
Shield Maidens
My Shield Maidens attack, and then 3 Foot Soldiers defend. How much damage do my Shield Maidens take?
0, because each source of damage is reduced by 1!
Siege Ballista
Do both units need to have been in play for a turn or have charge?
Yes. Summoning sick units can’t be tapped to pay costs.
Silence
Is this effect actually a silence effect?
Yes. Treat "loses all non-basic abilities" as "silenced." See the silenced codex entry for more details.
What happens if a Mountain Giant occupies a Silence aura?
A card's size is generally set when it enters the realm, and is considered one of its characteristics, not an ability. It will not resize.
What happens if a Silence aura is animated by Enchantress?
It still silences other minions but it also silences itself.
Sir Morien
Can enemy projectiles be shot from Morien's location?
No, Morien cuts them down immediately, like the total badass he is.
Sir Tom Thumb
If my opponent’s beast snatches Tom up, do they now take control of him?
How dare you!? Sir Tom Thumb is no mere trinket. He's a fully autonomous being and acknowledges no other controller!
Sisters of Silence
Is this effect actually a silence effect?
Yes. Treat "loses all non-basic abilities" as "silenced." See the silenced codex entry for more details.
Skirmishers of Mu
How does this ability work?
Treat it as: Once during their Move and Attack ability when Skirmishers of Mu enter a location, they may perform a ranged strike.
Slumbering Giantess
If attacked by a minion that strikes first, does the Giantess end up striking back?
Yes, assuming she isn't killed.
Smokestacks of Gnaak
What happens if there are two Smokestacks of Gnaak nearby each other?
See "Example - Two Smokestacks of Gnaak" in the codex!
How do Smokestacks of Gnaak and Mirror Realm interact?
By the time Mirror Realm enters the realm, it's already a copy. Thus, it can copy a nearby site, and then promptly loses all abilities of that copied site (but still is the copy, without abilities). See "Apply Ongoing Effects In Order" in the codex for nitty-gritty details.
How do Smokestacks of Gnaak and Rift Valley interact?
Rift Valley enters the realm using its ability, and only loses its ability once it's in the realm (which by then, it doesn't really matter).
Snowball
Does the snowball’s path include both the starting and ending locations?
Yes! The projectile's path determines which locations are affected by the rest of the snowball, gathering up everything along the way, just as you'd expect giant snowball physics would work after watching all those Saturday morning cartoons.
Sparkmage
Can any of my spellcasters cast a spell and still benefit from my avatar's ability?
Yes! As long as you control the spellcaster, the game sees it as a spell "you" cast, meaning the player.
Is the damage considered air damage?
Yes.
If I give my Sparkmage a poisonous dagger, will it deal lethal damage with its tap ability?
Yes, because it's dealing the damage directly via it's ability. (Damage from a lightning bolt cast by the Sparkmage would not be lethal.)
If I reduce the threshold required to cast the spell (e.g. Mix Aer), does the threshold still count for the Sparkmage ability?
Yes. The Sparkmage ability considers printed threshold on the spell.
Spear of Destiny
What if the minion being killed occupies more than one location?
You choose where the spear teleports, which will be a single location the minion occupies.
Spin Attack
Does this card count as an "attack" since it has the word "attack" in its name?
Sorry for the confusion, but no, this is not actually an attack! You only get an "attack" from the Move and Attack basic ability, or card text that specifically uses the word attack (e.g. Crave Golem). This card text uses the word "strike," which means the unit simply deals damage equal to its power (and there's no chance for the opponent to Defend, and you can strike Stealthed or Airborne units, etc.)
Spire Lich
Does Watchtower satisfy the Spire Lich?
Yes, because of the golden rule. Be cool!
Squirming Mass
Let's say the Mass is 1 power, and it fights another 1 power minion. What happens?
Both take 1 damage each, which results in their simultaneous death. That triggers Squirming Mass's ability, which means its gains +1 power, but it's already dying, and merely gaining power isn't enough to save it. (Something specifically that saves a unit from death would be necessary, like Gilded Aegis.) In this example, both minions are placed in the cemetery.
Does this gain its own power when it dies?
Treat it as: Whenever another nearby minion dies, Squirming Mass permanently gains its power.
If a minion's current power is different from its printed power when it dies, which value does Squirming Mass gain?
The current power of the minion that dies.
Summoning Sphere
Does this allow me to summon my units burrowed even without burrowing?
No. The effect only allows you to break the restriction of choosing one of your own sites, but not the rule about summoning atop the site.
The term "summon" means "enter the realm." So, does that mean I can play minions here for free?
No. This effect simply provides additional locations where you may summon your minions.
Sunken Treasure
Do I get the cards immediately when my minion carrying the treasure moves to the surface, even in the middle of something else (like defending or attacking) ?
Yes! As soon as your unit is on the surface, you resolve the treasure effect.
Templar
Can any of my spellcasters cast a spell and still benefit from my avatar's ability?
Yes! As long as you control the spellcaster, the game sees it as a spell "you" cast, meaning the player.
Thankless Squire
Once the Thankless Squire has delivered all those lances, and isn't carrying any more, is it still Immobile?
Yes, he's very tired and in need of a rest.
The Colour Out of Space
If it’s not adjacent to void and is within Abundance, does it still gain extra mana?
Yes. The site doesn't provide mana normally, but if it's modified in some way (e.g. Abundance), then it can provide additional mana. 0 + 1 = 1.
If it’s not adjacent to void and is the target of a flood, does it still gain water affinity?
Yes. The site doesn't provide affinity normally, but if it's modified in some way (e.g. Flood), then it will.
The Geistwood
If multiple minions including Miracle Workers die at the same time on Geistwood, can Miracle Workers return themselves and/or another minion that's dying to your hand?
No, because Miracle Workers only return minions from the cemetery, and deathrites resolve while the minions are still in the realm. The Miracle Workers could return other minions that died earlier that turn and were in the cemetery.
If The Geistwood site itself and minions occupying the site are all destroyed at the same time, do the minions' genesis abilities still count as Deathrite abilities, or can the active player decide to destroy Geistwood before the deathrites resolve?
Since the destruction is simultaneous (e.g. Roots of Ygdrassil), all Deathrites will resolve before cards are moved to the cemetery.
The Immortal Throne
What does "alone here" mean?
No other units at the location.
What counts as "playing" a card?
Playing a site, which costs 0, or casting a spell.
If I modify the cost of a spell (e.g. a Mix artifact, or an alternate casting cost), does The Immortal Throne look at the modified cost or the printed cost?
Cost in this case means "printed cost."
The alpha foil version has the text for Pendulum of Peril on it. Is that a misprint?
Yes. Use the text for the normal version. The foil version is not legal for tournament play.
Thunderstorm
The alpha and beta text is different, which should I use?
The beta text is correct.
Tide Naiads
Can Tide Naiads move from an underwater location to an underground location?
No. They would need to enter the underground location to flood it, and they cannot enter underground locations without burrowing.
Torshammar Trinket
How does this work with end of turn and damage clearing?
The intent is that a 1 power minion with 1 damage + the Trinket would survive the turn. Treat it as: Bearer has +1 power. If in the realm, return this to its owner’s hand during Step 3 of your End Phase.
Tringh Constrictor
The alpha and beta text is different, which should I use?
The beta text is correct.
Truesight Crossbow
Can the bearer shoot or defend against a stealthed enemy?
Yes. Treat it as: "Bearer has Ranged and can see stealthed enemies." That means they can target them with spells, shoot them with projectiles, attack or intercept them and even defend against their attacks.
Tufted Turtles
My Tufted Turtles attack (having taken no damage so far this turn), and then 3 Foot Soldiers defend. How much damage do my Tufted Turtles take?
0, because all three Foot Soldiers did damage at the same time, tied for first, and thus all are prevented!
Twist of Fate
What happens if I cast this when I’m at death’s door?
You can cast it, and your opponent will go to 0 life, being put at Death’s Door and becoming immune to damage for the rest of the turn. You will still remain at 0 life since you can’t gain life once you’re at death’s door.
For purposes of cards that care about the mana cost of spells, what is the mana cost of a spell with X?
If you cast the spell, the mana cost is X. For example, if you cast it for 2 mana, then Immortal Throne would see it as a 2 cost spell. But, if you aren't casting the spell and it's simply in your hand, spellbook, etc., then X is 0 until you actually cast it.
Ultimate Horror
The alpha foil version has 3 air threshold and the normal version has 2 air threshold. Which is correct?
The normal version is correct. You only need 2 air affinity to cast this minion.
When Ultimate Horror summons dead voidwalk minions, can they go to different nearby sites and voids?
Yes!
Undertaker Engine
Can it burrow and unburrow different things the same turn?
Yes.
Undertow
Does Undertow let you pull a unit underwater if they have submerge?
No, because it’s a “normal step,” which doesn’t allow changing regions.
Unland Angler
What are the details of pulling an oversized minion that occupies the water site and other locations?
When pulling or pushing a oversized unit, choose a single location the oversized unit occupies (and meets the requirement of the effect - e.g. adjacent), and push/pull from there.
Unland Eel
When it submerges, can it pull down a minion anywhere in the realm, or only from its location?
No. Unland Eel can only drag a minion that shares its location.
Updraft Ridge
If an Airborne minion on Updraft Ridge declares a +1 movement, can it complete its full move even though it loses +1 movement as soon as it leaves Updraft Ridge?
Yes. Treat it as: Airborne minions atop Updraft Ridge move freely away.
Vanguard Knights
If I have two Vanguard Knights equally forward, do they cancel each other out?
Yes. They only get the benefit if they are the true vanguard, with a single minion being the farthest forward.
How do I know if they're the "farthest forward?"
The row of squares closest to you is 1, then the next row is 2, then 3, then 4. The higher the number, the farther forward it is.
Varmint Warrens
Does this prevent enemy magic from harming my beasts?
Yes, as long as the effect says “target”. You’ll need to bring in a specialized exterminator to flush out these hidey-holes.
Vaults of Zul
If I play this under my avatar, have I stopped there?
No, because a unit doesn't enter the site if the unit was already present in the square when the site was played.
What does "stops here" mean?
An avatar stops when there is no additional movement for that unit on the Storyline. A unit must first move to then stop.
Does Vaults of Zul trigger once per game, or once per game per avatar?
Once per game total. They took time to loot the vaults! (If two avatars somehow stop on the vaults simultaneously, they will both be tied for first, and will both loot the vaults.)
What happens if my turn is skipped via Vaults of Zul and Courtesan Thaïs is affecting me?
If a turn is skipped then there's no actual turn, which means that part of Courtesan Thaïs's effect would wait for that player's next actual turn.
Vivien the Enchantress
What does “wherever she is" mean?
Anywhere! The realm, your hand, and cemetery, and even while in the middle of your spellbook.
Since Avatars are Spellcasters, is Vivien a Spellcaster?
Not by default. Avatars don’t have the printed ability “Spellcaster,” so Vivien must gain the Spellcaster ability another way, e.g. a minion with the printed Spellcaster ability.
Can Vivien the Enchantress copy the abilities of another Vivien the Enchantress?
No. Treat it as: Vivien has the other printed abilities of all Avatars and Spellcasters in the realm, wherever she is.
What happens if Vivien uses the Druid’s ability to summon Bruin and flip?
She summons Bruin and then flips. As a flipped card with nothing on the back, she has no game text and will effectively do nothing for the rest of the game. She is no longer a minion, has no card type or abilities, etc. The flipped card can exist in the void, and technically she could turn off Pristine Paradise, and would be destroyed by Roots of Yggdrasil.
Wall of Air
Does this affect subsurface units?
No. (They are not atop the site.)
What if this is animated by an Enchantress?
An animated Wall of Air can’t move (unless it gains power), since it has a Wall of Air in its middle! If it gains power (or teleports) and manages to move, the Wall of Air applies between the two squares it occupies.
Does this affect the corners of the border? (e.g. Airborne units moving diagonally)
No. "Border" means adjacent squares, not including diagonals.
How many squares does this aura occupy?
2
Wall of Fire
How many squares does this aura occupy?
2
What does “passes through” mean?
Moving through in any way, whether willingly or by force. For example, a unit moved by Grapple Shot or Pudge Butcher would take damage from the Wall of Fire. Note that a teleported unit doesn’t pass through borders, and thus wouldn't be affected.
Does this affect Airborne units?
Yes. (They are atop the site.)
Does this affect the corners of the border? (e.g. Airborne units moving diagonally)
No. "Border" means adjacent squares, not including diagonals.
What if this is animated by an Enchantress?
It can move, but units are not passing through the Wall of Flame due to its own movement. After moving, its effect will apply between the two squares it occupies.
Does this affect subsurface units?
No. (They are not atop the site.)
Wall of Ice
How many squares does this aura occupy?
2
What if this is animated by an Enchantress?
An animated Wall of Ice can’t move normally, since it has a Wall of Ice in its middle! If it gains Airborne (or teleports, etc.) and manages to move, the Wall of Ice applies between the two squares it occupies.
Warp Spasm
When is the power doubled?
This effect applies a doubling throughout the turn. If the unit gains or loses power, apply any additions or subtractions first, then double.
Waveshaper
When exactly does the previous site stop being flooded when I use this ability for the second time?
The newly flooded site becomes flooded at the same moment the previously flooded site stops being flooded. If you choose the same site, there is no moment when the site isn't flood.
If the site doesn't get flooded (e.g. Bedrock), do the minions without submerge still tap?
Yes! Imagine a big wave washing over the Bedrock, knocking everyone over, and then the water dissipates due to Bedrock.
What does “your body of water” mean?
The body of water (if any) that your Avatar currently occupies. If the Avatar isn’t in any body of water, the ability won’t function. (They're a fish out of water!)
Can I choose the same site over and over?
Yes, as long as it's nearby your body of water.
Whirling Blades
Does the path include the starting and ending locations?
Yes.
Can a unit with move-related abilities (e.g. Airborne) “take steps” using its ability?
Yes.
Do I fully resolve my movement first, then strike each enemy simultaneously?
Yes.
If I choose to move 0 steps (perhaps because my unit is Immobile), do I strike anything?
No, because you don't have any path if you don't move. A path involves 1 or more steps, and each step has a starting and ending location that's different (if your step is from a location to the same location, you didn't actually move anywhere.)
Wildfire
Does “visited before” apply to other Wildfires I cast in the same game?
Once it leaves play, a Wildfire forgets all the places it visited. If you have multiple Wildfires in play, track them each separately.
Wills-o'-the-Wisp
If Wills-o’-the-Wisps are attacked and then use their ability to evade the attack, what happens?
Attack triggers are still satisfied (e.g. Captain Baldassare), but the attack otherwise ends (assuming there aren't any units left to fight). The attacker will not strike, and the target of the attack will not revert to the original target (if any).
If Wills-o’-the-Wisps are attacked by a oversized minion, and then Wills-o’-the-Wisps teleport to a nearby location that the oversized minion still occupies, does the attack continue?
Yes. To actually evade the attack, they must teleport to a location that the attacker doesn’t occupy.
Windblast
Does the movement get resolved simultaneously?
Yes, all the steps are simultaneously resolved (which might then provoke a variety of triggers).
Can I push something into the void?
No. Since this is forced movement (and not normal unit movement), “one step” means a single adjacent location. (And “adjacent location” means an adjacent square in the same region.)
Per card text, artifacts that are carried get pushed as well. So, do held artifacts get blown away from the units carrying them?
Since all of the movement is simultaneous the artifact always shares a location with the unit, so it was never dropped and continues to be carried.
Witherwing Hero
If a weaker ally is attacked and you return them to your hand via this ability, what happens?
Attack triggers are still satisfied (e.g. Captain Baldassare), but the attack otherwise ends, assuming there aren't any units left to fight. The attacker will not strike.
Zephyranne Airship
What happens when a minion carries another minion that's carrying a minion?
Only the minions you're directly carrying count against your limit. Have fun at the carnival!